When do you use t. h. a. n.?

The way to keep the pair straight is to focus on this basic difference:  t h, E, n, is used when you're talking about something relating to time. t h, A, n, is used for comparisons in phrases like smaller than, smoother than, & further than.  &it's the word that follows other, rather, less, & more.