Why is the hurricanes mascot a pig?

Why is the hurricanes mascot a pig? Stormy is the mascot of the Carolina Hurricanes. He is an anthropomorphic ice hog, who wears the number 97 to play. The reason for a hog mascot is because of the abundance of hog farms in eastern North Carolina