Do wasps lay eggs in figs?

Yes. fig wasps end up burrowing inside fig fruits to lay their eggs. This process causes the wasps to loose their wings and antennae, which means the female wasps die inside the figs. Once they're mature, the wasp eggs hatch and male offspring mate with female offspring.