Why are pants called a pair?

From Brittannica: Calling them a pair of pantaloons, or pants, as they were later known, made sense when there were two components. The phrasing was retained even after pants were made into 1 complete garment. But, there doesn't seem to be much evidence in reference sources to support this theory.