What does bags not mean?

“Bags Not” is a uniquely Kiwi term. It's said when someone wants to get out of doing something – usually a chore that's not much fun, like doing the dishes or taking the rubbish to the gate. If you yell out “Bags Not” before anyone else, you could avoid getting chosen for the task.