Who invented decaf coffee?

The first commercially successful decaffeination process was invented by German merchant Ludwig Roselius and co-workers in 1903 and patented in 1906.

---

The first commercially successful decaffeination process was invented by German merchant Ludwig Roselius and co-workers in 1903 and patented in 1906. Ludwig accidentally figured this out when his freight of coffee beans was soaked in sea water and lost much of its caffeine without losing much taste.