What's the definition of chef knife?

A Chef Knife is a cutting tool used by cooks and chefs in food preparation. Originally designed to cut and separate large pieces of bone. The knife ranges from 8 to 10 inches, with a curving blade that ends in a sharp point. Used for chopping, slicing, and dicing to prepare food.