What period is ancient history?

Ancient history can be considered the period from the emergence of recorded events in Sumeria (around 3000 BCE) to the collapse of the western Roman Empire (around 475 AD). This is from the Western perspective. In Asian, African or other cultures, the answer may well be very different.