Do possums play dead?

Yes. According to animals.mom.com, playing dead is an involuntary response on the part of the opossum. The stress of the confrontation facing the opossum causes him to go into shock. This shock induces a comatose state that can last from 40 minutes to four hours.

---

Yes they play dead as a defense mechanism