What is kentucky bourbon?

According to US Trade Legislation, a “bourbon” is a type of whiskey where the “mashbill” consists of 51% - 80% corn. Bourbon is distilled from a fermented mash of grain, yeast and water. The Barrel - Bourbon must be aged in brand new barrels made of white oak and charred on the inside.