Is the red sea actually red?

The Red Sea is normally an intense turquoise. Occasionally, the sea becomes filled with blooms of cyanobacteria algae, called trichodesmium erythraeum. Upon dying, the blooms turn the water reddish-brown. The color is not intense and is said to vary across the expansive body of water.