What is the function of a rubber duck?

Well Mr. Weasley, with their bright color, smooth texture, and squeaky or quacky sounds, rubber ducks sharpen toddlers' senses. Their presence in the bathtub soothes youngsters' fears of water and water immersion, and makes good clean fun of the routine hygiene they're learning.