How is an alligator different from a crocodile?

Snout shape: Alligators have wider, U-shaped snouts, while crocodile front ends are more pointed and V-shaped. ... For alligators, the upper jaw is wider than the lower one, so when they close their mouths, all their teeth are hidden. Also how they say good bye; see u later or in a while.