What's the longest you can leave a tampon in?

Manufacturers state in their safety sheets that no tampon should be worn for more than 8 hours, and ideally tampons should be changed every 4 hours. Wearing beyond 8 hours significantly increases the risk of toxic shock syndrome, and the sheet recommends use of a pad for extents longer than 8 hours.