Why does alcohol make you drunk?

The reason alcohol gets you drunk is Ethanol. It is broken down in your digestive system as you drink. It then causes your blood vessels to widen so it can reach the brain faster, to release dopamine & serotonin while depressing your nervous system. The last bit is why you shouldn't drink and drive.