What's a basil?

Basil also called great basil is a culinary herb of the family Lamiaceae. It is a tender plant, and is used in cuisines worldwide. In Western cuisine, it refers to the variety also known as sweet basil or Genovese basil. Basil is native to tropical regions from Central Africa to Southeast Asia.