Why do they call cornhole cornhole?

When your bag is in the hole, it's called a “cornhole,” denoting that the “corn” is in the “hole.” Over the years, the name has stuck even when many people have switched from bags of corn to bean bags containing resin or plastic pellets. This is why the game is sometimes called bean bag toss.