Did john quincy adams have a pet alligator?

Yes. It was a gift from Revolutionary War hero the Marquis de Lafayette, who received the alligator as a gift while touring the 24 states between 1824 and 1825. He re-gifted it to the President. President Adams lodged the gator in the White House’s unfinished East Room and its nearby bathtub.