What percentage of people smoke in the united states?

The MMWR researchers determined that in 2018, an estimated 19.7% of the adult population currently used a tobacco product. At 13.7%, cigarettes remained the most commonly used tobacco product, followed by cigars (3.9%), e-cigarettes (3.2%), smokeless tobacco (2.4%) and pipes (1%).