What is partial product mean?

The partial product method involves multiplying each digit of a number in turn with each digit of another where each digit maintains its place. (So, the 2 in 23 would actually be 20.) For instance, 23 x 42 would become (20 x 40) + (20 x 2) + (3 x 40) + (3 x 2).