What does vowel mean?

A vowel is a syllabic speech sound pronounced without any stricture in the vocal tract. Vowels are one of the two principal classes of speech sounds, the other being the consonant.

---

A vowel is one of the two major types of speech sound. It is made without stricture of the vocal tract, and in English refers to the letters A, E, I. O, and U.