What was the first helicopter invented?

On September 14, 1939, the VS-300, the world's first practical helicopter, took flight at Stratford, Connecticut. Designed by Igor Sikorsky. Over 420 years before the first helicopter was built, Leonardo Da Vinci sketched out what he called the Aerial Screw.