When is jupiter the closest to earth?

Jupiter will be at its closest to Earth (Sept. 26 2022) in 59 years. It's all due to a serendipitous combination of what's known as opposition and the perfect perihelion. Every twelve Earth years, give or take, Jupiter's distance from the Sun shrinks to a mere 740 million kilometers.