Can vegetable oil go down the drain?

Any cooking oil shouldn't be poured down a drain. Oils and greases will congeal and solidify to form blockages. Even if the oil is free flowing, or mixed with soap and hot water, it can re-solidify, and also mix with other solids, once it cools, and cause drain pipes and sewers to get blocked.