Who is the first player in the n. f. l.?

The first-ever Heisman Trophy winner, Jay Berwanger from the University of Chicago, was the first player ever taken in an NFL draft. The Eagles selected the halfback but traded his rights to the Bears. Considering pro football wasn't a very lucrative career in 1936, Berwanger never played in the NFL