Where did the term bless you originate?

National Geographic reports that during the plague, Pope Gregory I commanded that anyone sneezing be blessed immediately ("God bless you"), since sneezing was often the first sign that someone was falling ill with the plague. It became customary to say "God bless you" as a response to one sneezing.