Can you make buttermilk from regular milk?

The simplest way to substitute buttermilk is to pour 1 Tbs. of vinegar into a 1 cup measurer and then fill the rest of the measuring cup with milk. gently stir the mixture and let it sit for about 5 minutes. If you don't have vinegar, lemon juice and cream of tarter work as buttermilk substitutions.