What is schrodinger's principle?

In Schrödinger’s cat experiment we suppose to take an hypothetical cat into a box with a gas that has 50% of probabilities of killing the cat. At the moment the box isn’t open there’s state known as quantum superposition, a scenario in which the cat could be dead and alive at the same time.