What happened on january thirty first?

Many historical events happened on Jan 31st. 1865: USA: The 13th Amendment passed by Congress, abolishing slavery, and submitted to the states for ratification. 1915: World War I: Germany is the first to make large-scale use of poison gas in warfare in the Battle of Bolimów against Russia.