How do you open a pomegranate?

Many chefs recommend cutting the pomegranate in quarters, then submerging it in a bowl of water while separating the arils, or seeds, from the flesh with your hands. Others suggest holding the cut chunks face down above the water and smacking the flesh with a wooden spoon to loosen them.