How long was wayne gretzky's career?

Wayne Douglas Gretzky CC is a Canadian former pro ice hockey player and former head coach. He played 20 seasons in the National Hockey League for 4 teams from 1979-1999. Nicknamed "The Great One", he has been called "the greatest hockey player ever" by many sportswriters, players, and the NHL.