What is retroactive?

Retroactive refers to something that goes backwards in time. For example, a retroactive tax is effective on income that occurred before the tax was enacted.

---

Retroactive means extending in scope or effect to a prior time or to conditions that existed or originated in the past. Especially as made effective as of a date prior to enactment, promulgation, or imposition