Is a. i. n. apostrophe t. a. word?

Ain't is actually a real word. However, it is one many wordsmiths might frown upon. In the world of linguistics, ain't is what is known as a slang contraction. So, it's a contraction that is used in conversational, spoken English, but it might get you a few negative looks from your English teacher.