Are the bahama islands in independent country?

Formally known as the Commonwealth of the Bahamas, it is an island nation, which gained independence from the United Kingdom on July 10, 1973. Prior to British control, it was invaded by the Spaniards during the time of Columbus first voyages. Its original inhabitants were the Taíno people.