What's the difference between a running back and a wide receiver?

Running back is a player who runs with the football. Running backs are also referred to as tailbacks, halfbacks, and rushers. A Wide receiver is a player who uses his speed and quickness to elude defenders and catch the football. Teams use as many as two to four wide receivers on every play.