How do butterflies talk?

Butterflies communicate with each other by color, chemicals, sound, and physical actions. Chemical pheromones are used by both sexes of some butterflies to attract the opposite sex or to signal species identity in courtship. To protect their space males of the genus Hamadryas make clicking sounds.