How strong was the nineteen eighty nine san francisco earthquake?

The LomaPrieta Earthquake, measuring 6.9 on Richter scale, struck San Francisco-Oakland area of CA. 10-28-1989. Homes&offices were wrecked&fires broke out. Most of the estimated 63deaths came when a 1/2 mile part of double-decker Interstate 880 highway collapsed, crushing vehicles on the lower deck.