Why do people say rabbit rabbit rabbit on the first day of the month?

"Rabbit rabbit rabbit" is a superstition found in Britain and North America wherein a person says or repeats the words "rabbit", "rabbits" or "white rabbits" aloud upon waking on the first day of a month, to ensure good luck for the rest of it.