What does actor portrayal mean?

If you like the way an actor played the role of Abraham Lincoln, you might praise his portrayal of the sixteenth president. Use the noun portrayal to describe the representation of someone, either in form of a dramatic character, a spoken description, or even a photograph or painting of the person.