What are boy cooties?

Of all the germs kids are exposed to on the playground, the freakiest one is cooties. The word first appeared during World War I as soldiers’ slang for the painful body lice that infested the trenches. Little girls know that boys have cooties, and vice versa. One catches cooties by—eww!—touching.