Why is north carolina called the tar heels?

The term “tar heel” dates back to North Carolina's early history, when the state was a leading producer of supplies for the naval industry. ... They called themselves “tar heels” as an expression of state pride. Others adopted the term, and North Carolina became widely known as the “Tar Heel State.”