What is a wither in minecraft?

The wither is a hostile npc that can only be found by spawning it. The wither will drop a nether star when killed that is used to craft beacons. To spawn the wither, you will need to obtain 3 wither skeleton skulls by killing wither skeletons in the nether. You will also need 4 blocks of soul sand.