How many licks does it take to get to a center of a tootsie pop?

A group of engineering students,Purdue University reported a licking machine, modeled after human tongue, took an average of 364 licks to get to center of a Tootsie Pop. Twenty of the group's volunteers assumed the licking challenge-unassisted by machinery-and averaged 252 licks each to the center.

---

A group of engineering students from Purdue University reported that its licking machine, modeled after a human tongue, took an average of 364 licks to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop. Twenty of the group's volunteers assumed the licking challenge and averaged 252 licks each to the center.