Who invented apple cider vinegar?

It is unclear who first created apple cider vinegar, but there are records that Babylonians used cider vinegar made from dates in 5000 BCE, and Romans recorded ciders made from apples in the British Isles in 55 BCE. At the time most apples were too bitter to eat so the juices were fermented for use.