How many letters does an onion have?

The onion bulb is comprised of the swollen and modified leaves of the onion plant that are attached together at their base, surrounding the stem that sits in the middle. Although the usual number of layers (leaves) is between 8 to 13, the number of layers an onion has depends on its species.