What does air quality effect mean?

Air pollution that can cause an alert: Orange air quality alert means the air is dangerous for sensitive groups, such as those with asthma or the elderly. Red alert indicates it is starting to become dangerous for everyone. Purple or maroon air quality alerts are extremely hazardous for all groups.