Do cats mark their territory?

Cats have scent glands in a variety of locations and can use them to mark territory. Spraying and head rubbing are two primary techniques cats use to lay down their scent. ... Both male and female cats can mark with urine. Urine marking is most common in intact (non-neutered) male cats.