What was the opm war?

The Opium War between Great Britain and China began in 1839 as a conflict over the opium trade and ended in 1842 with the ceding of Hong Kong to the British, the opening of 5 Chinese ports to foreign merchants, and the grant of other commercial and diplomatic privileges in the Treaty of Nanking.