What year was auld lang syne written?

"Auld Lang Syne" is a Scots-language poem written by Robert Burns in 1788 but based on an older Scottish folk song. In 1799, it was set to a traditional tune which has since become standard.

---

Auld Lanf Syne was originally a Scots-language poem written by Robert Burns in 1788. However, it became popular when it was joined to an old Scottish tune in 1799 that became the song many sing at New Years.