How long does it take for egg shells to break down?

It depends on where the egg shells are located, environmental conditions and size of the shell pieces. Smaller pieces break down faster. Shells buried in the ground take longer. Shells exposed to high heat and rain break down faster. No one agrees, but 6 months to 5 years is average.